How to make use of the Facebook Segmentation Matrix

The internet has forever changed the lives of people everywhere, definitely includng me! I’m so grateful to be a millenial in this amazing digital age. Some of the best, most profitable apps that lead the social media game are Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn but I think we can all agree that the biggest social media platform on the internet is Facebook, with 1.47 billion daily active users worldwide, worth over $100 billion.

(oh my god, right?)

Did you know that the average cost per click in Facebook Ads across all industries is $1.72, with the highest being $3.77 for Finance & Insurance Industry? Now, that’s a lot. If you’re going to use Facebook to promote your company and brand, you should know the four main segments you want to target.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Any successful company knows how to segment their target markets and Facebook does it incredibly well and knows how to use it to their advantage to gain market dominance. But what are the segments and are you in any of it? (of course you are). People use Facebook for various reasons depending on how old you are, how sociable, how much entertainment you need and it all depends on a person’s personality and their motivation to use the app.

michelle-obama-phone-gif

And using these reasons, The Facebook Segmenation Matrix is created. So let’s see.

fb

I know, the first thing you’ll see is “Attention Seekers” and we all know a person or two who comes to mind. So very briefly, let me tell you what these segments represent.

Attention Seekers – are exactly what they sound like. These people are bigtime content creators who can gather a lot of attention to themselves. E.g. Kim Kardashian or Logan Paul.

Entertainment Chasers – This is the category where I fall! Engaging with facebook ads is almost never for me because I always scroll past to what I really want; videos of people and dogs doing the “What the fluff?” challenge.  #whatthefluff

h89B04507

Mass Facebook ads seem to fail on consumers like me but perhaps not on the devotees!

Devotees – They are people who create and consume content on Facebook. They’re more likely to click on an ad for Apple products rather than people like me. Devotees will tend to click on ads and share about it to their audience and peers as a user. E.g. Vloggers or Brand Ambassadors.

Last but not least,

Connection Seekers – These people are simply looking to connect and egage with friends through posts and messages or be in meaningful facebook communities. More than 100 million Facebook users belong to meaningful communities—groups aimed at helping users such as new parents or victims of rare diseases.

Brands need to know who they’re targeting and more importantly, how they are engaging to each segment when they’re posting facebook ads to be the most effective. Happy targeting!

Let me know your thoughts on this blog and which segment you think you fall into! Feel free to leave a comment, you guys!

 

Author: V I O L A

Hello! I'm Viola, a fellow marketing enthusiast from Yangon, Myanmar. I love to analyze ideas, creations, and people; which is what Marketing is! It's about people, understanding their behavior, and the underlying motivation behind their purchase decisions. This interests me a whole lot and I'm excited to write about all the things I learn about Digital Marketing here!

6 thoughts on “How to make use of the Facebook Segmentation Matrix”

  1. I definitely belong in the Entertainment seekers and Connection seekers. What an enjoyable read! Following this blog for more entertaining and informative posts. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started